In some parts of the world it is increasingly popular to research the history of one's own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

There is a rising trend in researching the backgrounds of one' s own family. In my opinion, It is understandable for people to do that, and to some extent, It has both negative and positive impacts on humans. There is a reasonable argument why people want to spend time on studying about their own families. It is true that most popular literature projects including poetry and music in the world are discovered by authors' next generations. Thus, If people research their family history, there may be a chance that they could explore some worldwide legacies. For example, The journey to the West, one of the most successful books of all time, was discovered ten years after the writer' death. Despite the positive effect mentioned above, the trend of studying about family history could be seen as negative and positive. The downside of this trend is that the chance of finding some legacies which contribute to the spiritual value of humankind is low. As a result, It is the waste of money and time to carry out such research. However, It is beneficial for people from an individuals perspective when they can find out about the traditional value of their own family which evokes the pride in each person. In conclusion, Although there is a reasonable purpose for someone to carry out the research of their own family, It might have adverse effect, so that we should consider carefully before decide to do