Most people think that money cannot buy happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

There is no gainsaying the fact that happiness is the key to various benefits: promotes a healthier lifestyle; boosts immune system; fights stress and pain; supports longevity. Considering this many people agree with the idea that happiness cannot be bought. Defining happiness is difficult because everyone has a different concept of it. Apparently, people can become happier by changing their mindset, spending time in nature and working on themselves more. To commence with, the concept of happiness is a quite difficult thing to define as many echelons have different ideas to what contributes to happiness. Some feel that money is the key, others would say that family is the main factor and yet others believe that freedom and self-expression contribute to a happy existence. To illustrate this, a study carried out by leading psychologist in the USA in 2008 over a two-year period, which polled over ninety thousand people, exhibited that opinions varied greatly. A vast majority said that freedom and creativity were paramount while many others cited a multitude of other reasons for happiness, one of those being financial gain. In my view, people can become much happier with introspection and meditation. Many a person when works on himself/herself and reflects on their inner feelings, it leads to emotional maturity. All too often it is easy to focus on the outside world and materialism, this can further lead to shallow as walking in the forest, meditation and working on inner feelings, a person can achieve far greater joy than if they focus on material success such as making lots of money and pursuing fame and recognition. All in all, it can be concluded, although happiness is hard to clearly define owing to different views, I think that it is through meditation, introspection and time in nature an individual can develop a greater sense of well-being.