In some cultures elderly people are highly valued, while in some other cultures youth are more valued.

Some proponents claim that the elderly should be highly valued, I believe that both the young and the old should be paid equal attention. Critics argue that elderly people have more working experience which can be imparted to the new comers. Usually, they are more proficiency in their position compared with young people and the advice they put forward are valuable. For example, in china people tend to go to the elderly doctors for help because they believe that the older the doctors are, the more experienced they are. In fact, older doctors do operate better than those young doctors due to their wisdom and experience. When we turn to the other side of the arguments, there are some points that young people should not be ignored. First and foremost, the elderly usually stick to the convention. On contrast, it is young people who are flexible and creative and master various up to date technology. There is no doubt that they can bring energy to the society. For example, in the newspaper industry, the traditional work like editing and interviewing can’t meet the appetite of the employer. Some cutting edge skills like video editing is a necessity. Young people can be more fit into the change in the industry and learn new skills. Second, due to physical factors, young people are cheap labour force that are favored by those large companies because those companies must pay for the elderly medicine check and insurance for those elderly. In this circumstance, the labour force of young people is more economical, so they should be valued. By the way of conclusion, although the elderly are the treasure in the society, we should also pay attention to the young people.