Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones nowadays has unwanted effects on young people’s reading and writing skills.

Undeniably, technology is gaining momentum in every walk of our life and it is impossible to imagine a life without it. Some folks believe that the overuse of electronic gadgets like computers or mobile phones has adverse effect on the reading and writing skills of the youngsters. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view as technology is a two edge sword having both merits and demerits. To embark with, most of the young people spend more time on their smartphones and laptops. The easy access of internet on these devices allows young people to explore the plethora of content to read which significantly helps them to develop strong vocabulary and broaden their horizons of knowledge. For example, a study of the linguistic department of Oxford university has proved that people developed a good range of vocabulary by reading various articles or blogs online. Apart from this the availability of the dictionary apps are particularly helpful for finding the origin and pronunciation of the words. Thus, the usage of smart gadgets blesses youngsters to ameliorate their reading and linguistic skills. On the other hand, most word processing softwares have spell check features. Since these softwares automatically correct the spelling of misspelled words. Thus, young people lack in remembering the spellings of the common words. In addition to this, the overuse of lingo and smileys in text messaging for faster communication has adversely affected the writing skills of the young people. They find it difficult to write grammatically correct sentence while writing a text. Therefore, the use of electronic devices drastically impact the writing skills of the young people. In conclusion, modern devices like mobile phones or computers have positive and negative aspects in equal measures. It is up to us to decide whether we want to benefit from them or allow them to destroy our cognitive skills.