Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

There are many languages in the world. However, minority languages are going to disappear due to the decreased use among the people. While there are some opinions suggesting that spending on language preservation is wasteful, I believe that preventing language destruction should be seriously invested in by the government. On the one hand, tribal communities’ languages are not commonly used and that is not helpful when it comes to economic benefits. Some popularly spoken languages such as Chinese, Spanish, English and Arabic are utilized worldwide while rarely spoken languages are not widely used. Therefore, people think that the government should prioritize their budget on other important sectors such as education, infrastructure, technology and national defence. For example, in Europe, it is encouraged that one country only speaks one language which not only helps significantly reduce misunderstandings in communication, but also drive the cross-border trading become smoother by using a unified language. On the other hand, destruction in languages will lead to the loss of cultural diverses. Because each language presents a unique culture and speciality of that community, the distinction will unintentionally destroy its beauty. For example, the data show that three languages astonish every day and that future generations will no longer enjoy the diversification in the world cultural heritage because of the boring unification of languages. In short, language is one of the valuable assets of world cultures. Although language preservation’s cost concern of lots of people with its less noticeable economic benefits, the values in cultural diverses are far more important to think about.