In some cultures the old age is highly valued, while in some cultures youth is highly valued.

People hold different opinions on the role of the elderly and the youth in the development of a country. While some countries highly appreciate the old age, others value the youth. Personally, I believe that both of the age groups are equal importance in socio-economic development. On the one hand, it is apparent that the contribution of senior citizens to the unity of society is undeniable. The first reason for this is that the older generation has been considered as mentors and inspirers for youngsters based on their life and work experiences. For example, in families, parents and grandparents can give their offsprings pieces of advice to tackle various difficulties in the life. Also, with their prestige, they are important consultants for organizations and businesses. Another reason is that the elderly have been dedicated their whole life to nurturing children in their family and working for fulfilling the responsibilities at work and in society. For these sacrifices, it is important for communities to treat them with respect. On the other hand, it is common knowledge that the young generations play a vital role as the creators and shapers of a nation’s tomorrow. Firstly, with being full of energetic and enthusiastic, the likelihood of the youth creating a huge source of well-educated and well-trained labour is high, which is a motivator to boost national productivity. This vibrant workforce would bring potential benefits in which the government could allocate other resources to developing their country effectively. Secondly, in the digital era with advances in technology that have made fundamental changes to the way life operates, younger people are more creative and can respond quickly to these innovations. To illustrate this, various jobs nowadays done automatically by computers, machines and online platforms could offer the youth more opportunities to find new methods for the tasks instead of traditional measures. For this reason, it is essential that investing in the youth development needs to be high on governments’ agenda. In conclusion, it seems to me that both the elderly and young people have equally significant impacts on the prosperity of a country. < br>