In some country young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Many people hold the belief that young individuals should take a break before pursuing higher education at university. Doing this can have both positive and negative effects. There are several benefits that can be reaped from having a break from studying after graduating from high school. Indeed, by entering the workforce, youngsters can expose themselves to the working environment and thus gain valuable hands-on experience. The merit of this is that they are able to put their academic study into perspective when they take university courses later. By way of illustration, students majoring in business administration can better imagine how accounting theories and standards are applied in proper context if they have previous experience in reading financial statements and handling transactions as a cashier. Another advantage to be taken into account is that by spending time visiting different places during their gap year, high school students can broaden their horizons and therefore have better personal resources to draw on, which is a very important factor regarding coping with the challenges of university life. On the other hand, this trend can do serious harm to young adults as they may end up never returning to their studies or finding it difficult to re-adapt to the academic environment. In fact, it is often said that taking a year out before starting a degree course allows a young person to take part in dissolute activities. These activities may take a heavy toll on the student’s performance by undermining their physical and mental health. Moreover, such activities could be a waste of time. As a result, students may fall behind with their study and therefore fail to meet requirements for university, hence dropping out of college. For instance, many Vietnamese students result in failing the university entrance exam as they are unable to utilize this time to do a thorough preparation. In conclusion, while taking a gap year before college can be beneficial, it also has several drawbacks.