In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In some countries, it is common for teenagers to work harder, resulting in not having much free time and being under a lot of stress. This essay discusses the reasons why the reality exists, and also suggests how to solve this. In my opinion, it is mainly due to education system in some nations like China, Vietnam, or Korea. Their education systems pay attention to teaching subjects to get into higher levels. To illustrate, it is true that in recent years, the Vietnamese ministry of education has added English to examinations and considered it as one of the main subjects. Besides, they only focus on theory than experiment, and each student to spend much time on doing homework, enriching knowledge or preparing for next lessons. Furthermore, both teenagers’ parents and their schools always expect them to succeed in life. Thus, students are put under a lot of pressure on their studies to get good academic qualifications, which are considered like the key to find work easily in highly competitive societies, or to buy houses. For instance, in heavily populated countries such as China, it can be seen that there are over 10, 000 students taking part in entrance exams; the exam pressure increases resulting in the high suicide rate among teenagers. Additionally, in Hong Kong, where the real estate prices are extremely expensive, it is customary for children to study 10 hours a day, and work from the age of 14, so they able to buy a house. Therefore, all of reasons originate from economic environment and the cost of living. However, the problem can be fought. Firstly, teenagers’ parents should change their mind. They should believe that education is not the only key to succeed in life. As a consequence, Bill Gates gave up learning to found Microsoft, however, now he is always on the list of the richest people in the world. Additionally, education system and schools should reduce the amount of homework, examinations, and encourage students to spend their leisure time on pursuing hobbies, or doing what they want to do. As the result of this, teenagers can improve social skills, or creation, and they have more motivation for learning. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the amount of teenagers’ leisure time is based on the cultural background they are educated. And if we can reduce working hours at school or at the office, we won’t be under stress and increase the productivity.