In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do it.

In many countries some students take a year off after finishing their high school studies for travelling or working before they enroll in a university. In my perspective, this one year gap in between high school and university provides them more disadvantages than advantages. On the one hand, there are some merits for students who take a year off to travel or work between high school and university. Firstly, travel broadens the mind of your people. This might help them to gain valuable experience in their life. For example, students who travel to different places get a chance to mingle with different types of people and cultures and this may improve their knowledge and experience. Another positive outcome is that while traveling or working, young people could acquire maturity and this would help them perform well when they join the university. A final benefit is that young people will probably earn some money when they work before joining the university. This money can be used to pay their university fees. On the other hand, there are more drawbacks when students spend a year working or travelling before joking the university. The first one is that if young people decide to work, they might get used to receiving an income and because of this they will not want to come back to their student life anymore. The second one is that travelling is a expensive activity and students who travel a year requires a huge amount of money. This could be spent on university studies. What is more, most of the students are too young to travel by themselves and this might put them in more dangerous situations. For example, young students are not mature enough and they may get involved in illegal activities such as selling drugs and crime. In conclusion, although there are some advantages to travelling or working between high school and university, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this practice outweigh the advantages.