In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Many countries in Europe encourage students to take a gap year after finishing their high school and before enrolling into a University. This helps a student to take a break, think about their goals and enrich their experience. The later teenage is very sensitive. It is the time of maturity, learning to shoulder responsibilities and slowly transforming into a complete adult. Making use of this period properly and efficiently is very essential. Working for some time before joining a University is definitely very helpful, as not only it will help in gaining valuable experience, but also will help a young teenager understand the value of hard earned money. Many young adults in their early years of college are careless about managing their funds. They get ecstatic when they step out of their homes for the very first time, enter into a new phase in life and taste certain freedoms. As a result, many end up squandering cash carelessly on parties, food, accessories and other not so important stuffs. Learning to earn, he will understand the value of money, be more responsible when it comes to saving. Doing a job, before joining the University, will impart the essential knowledge which will prove valuable tomorrow. He/she will learn many important skills like time management, cooperation and leadership. These skills are important throughout an academic and work life. Learning these at an early age is definitely very helpful. Travelling has a charm of its own. Being an avid traveller and having visited over 60 countries around the world, I definitely support and love travelling. Taking small risks, stepping out of the comfort zone in home and exploring new places teaches a lot. Interacting with people of different cultures, learning about their countries and traditions breaks many stereotypes, widens the horizon of knowledge and makes a person humble. By shouldering his own responsibilities, managing and taking care of the funds in a foreign country, taking independent decisions, staying safe, one becomes more matured and developed. After spending a lot 12-14 years in school, this 1 year break from the academic routine can be very refreshing and eye opening. Experience is the best teacher. It allows a fresh change from the regular student life and helps a young adult to explore far and wide places and learn by interacting with people. University studies play an important part in shaping the career and hence it is beneficial if a student is well aware of the future path he is going to embark on. To be successful in his endeavours, he has to make the correct choice and take the right decision at the right time. In many countries and cultures, students are heavily influenced by the society's pressure. They end up making wrong career choices, or just opt for subjects, their parents have chosen for them. Although initially this might seem helpful, but many times, students cannot bear the load of the studies, they lose interest, and eventually drop out or change the department. This causes unnecessary stress and delay. To break the circle it is necessary that a youngster makes a responsible and matured decision regarding his/her future. School teaches us academics, discipline and moral values, but a work-environment and travel experience impart hands on skills and knowledge. In a protective atmosphere, learning is not complete. Learning deepens and becomes more solid when someone learns to step out of the comfort zones and take independent steps slowly. Though a travel or work can help benefit in many ways, but this is not applicable to everyone. Young teenagers tend to be still very immature even at an age of 18 or 19. They do take wrong decisions which impact and changes their lives forever. Not everyone is skilled enough to walk out alone completely in the world outside. They need a few more years to develop themselves, build their education and then explore. Young people are naive and can be fooled easily. Facing colleagues in an office or interacting with people of a new nation with completely different values and culture, can be risky. It can be dangerous if one is not careful and well aware of his/her surroundings. Youngsters, especially young women, are easy targets for drugs, theft, and other exploitation. While stepping outside and new adventures can be exciting and thrilling, but it is also risky if someone is not matured and smart enough. Also, taking a gap year, can be harmful if time is not utilised to advantage. Taking a break from studies, many can get distracted and lose the academic orientation. They can find difficulty in concentrating and might completely lose interest in pursuing a graduate degree. Instead of preparing themselves for a better and constructive future, they might find satisfaction in temporary small jobs. Like everything else, this also has both advantages and disadvantages. Learning comes in various shapes and forms, full of excitement and risks. It is like a roller coaster ride. While we cannot always make the perfect choice, we can put effort towards taking a better one. At the end of the day, a person will have to face both the positive and negative consequences of his decision, so it is important that every choice we make is well researched and responsible.