In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decides to do this

In some nations youths are inspired to take up employment or explore the world before enrolling in the university after graduating from high school. Young adults can acquire experience from traveling, but there are also drawbacks that should be taken into account. One of the benefits of youngsters travelling after completing their high school education is that they will gain valuable experience. In other words, they will obtain knowledge that will assist them when enter the university. Juliet, the daughter of my neighbour is a good example. She was opportune to travel to France after her high school, where she learnt the history and culture of the French people. Upon entering the university to study Linguistics, she was ahead of her colleagues because she has had a fore knowledge about France. Therefore encouraging youngsters to journey before starting higher learning is beneficial. On the other hand, there are negative aspects to consider. Firstly, youths might decide not to further their education because they believe it is no longer important. Meaning young adults may not have the zeal to study again as they have seen the world so nothing is new to them anymore. Secondly, youngsters may consider higher institution a waste of time because they can start making money with the exposure they have had. For example, my cousin, who did a one year internship with google, has refused to go back to school because he claims he knows everything there is to know in information technology. In conclusion, viewing higher education as not important and a waste of time are some of the negative aspects of allowing young adults tour before entering higher institution. However, the positive aspects are also essential to note.