In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There is a common preference among the youngsters to get a break after their graduation and before joining the university. During this period they are encouraged to work or travel to gain some exposure. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks along with examples. There are many advantages to this. First of all, the students preferring to work during this time get the opportunity to understand the market. This helps in deciding their career and field they want to opt in the future. For example, a marketing student after graduating gets a sales job in a Commercial Bank gives him a better idea about the market trends. This gives him the path to choose the specialized field in the University. Secondly, adults who prefer to travel to some other country during their break gives them a better understanding to learn about different cultures. This will boost their confidence and knowledge. However, besides the merits there are certain demerits as well. Firstly, they will lose one year for the academics during this break. Most of the times, Universities offer scholarships to fresh graduates and pupil who were on break for one complete year might lose this opportunity. Secondly, those who were working during this hour find difficulty in continuing their academics. Due to the tough job schedule they are unable to manage their time and continue their studies. This results in missing the University education. For example, a full time employee has to give 40 working hours in a week and the worker finds it hard to manage it with his education. Due to monetary benefit he cannot resign from this job. Therefore, he has to sacrifice his education. To conclude, taking a break from studies has the benefits in shaping their personal and career development. Though there are also drawbacks of loosing scholarship opportunity and further education. In this regard, both the factors should be taken in consideration.