In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the adavantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There is no doubt that the period right after the high school graduation is critical to every student. Therefore, a lot of parents permit their children to commit for a travelling or a full-time job instead of gearing towards the university study. This essay will explore both merits and demerits that have generated from this approach and highlight some pertinent examples as well. To start with the positive development, aspiring students of varsity undoubtedly learn unique insights and experience a remarkable journey if they decide either to wander around at different places or to get employed in a company. This is indeed fruitful because it may become not only worthwhile, but also beneficial in the future as a reference. To give an illustrative example, when any university committee faces an application with one year of solid work experience, it would enable the applicant to have an extra edge in the whole pool. The result of this is that this type of people can bring more fresh thoughts and ideas on the table than a traditional graduate, who have been bogged down with studies only. On the other hand, an entire year that has been spent to work or travel might feel a lot for a regular pupil, thus seeming nothing but wasted. As every academic institution is quite serious about their students, they might wonder that why the student has wasted one year right after the high school. For instance, comparing other applications with merit, an application with a gap of one year would be anomalous for any educational authority. Furthermore, these people may feel distracted for a while and take some time to catch up with the regular studies, whereas others can jump onto lectures and exams immediately. In conclusion, although travelling to a new destination or pursuing a short career in an interesting organisation is often worth pursuing to diversify the lifestyle, this study break may overshadow a person's accolade and chance in the pool of competitive students.