in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Travelling or working abroad has become increasingly popular, especially for youngsters. They are advised to spend a gap year to travel or work outside their country before they begin university studies. Critics argue whether this is a correct decision or not, therefore, this essay will discuss the pros and cons of this suggestion. After finishing high school, it is no doubt that a gap year is needed to refresh the students’ minds and prepare them for college. Indeed, it is advisable to work before university to save some money. In other words, getting paid will help these undergraduates afford their further education, since it is well known that universities are highly expensive nowadays. For instance, fees per semester might reach $20, 000, which is absolutely costly. Furthermore, with regards to travelling, it is crucial to travel regularly to get the opportunity to know different cultures and gain essential experiences which will help later in life. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this recommendation. For example, it is argued that taking a gap year will discourage high school graduates from continuing their higher education. Surprisingly, it is scientifically proven that a vast number of students who take a year off before university end up skipping it. Additionally, it is worth noting that a year gap of might decrease the students’ educational level. This is a result of forgetting what has been learnt in high school due to not practicing. Graduating from school is a milestone in everybody’s life thus a year off before further studies is essential for the graduates’ well being and psychological state. However, it should be properly spent in order not to waste a full year as this might have adverse effects as previously discussed in this essay.