In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people to do this and give your opinion.

Taking a gap year after finishing high school is one of the popular options among students. Having just finished with final exams and the academic year, students tend to use the following year to relax and gain some real-world experience by choosing to travel or by taking up a job. This essay will draw the contrast between the pros and cons of taking the gap year. Choosing to take a year-long hiatus to work or travel can turn out to be greatly beneficial for a student's career. From a personal standpoint, they will learn critical life skills such as decision making and can also help them live and experience different cultures around the world. From a professional standpoint, young people will gain significant experience with respect to time management, workplace relations, and fiscal responsibility. Having said that, a year-long gap can also pose many dangers for students. They can get disconnected from their study habits and the discipline required during the education phase. Monetary gain from working during this break can also incite an illusion that further education is not necessary which can hinder their growth and possibly higher pay in the future. In conclusion, the decision to take the gap year is ultimately in the hands of the student. But before taking this decision, one should evaluate the benefits and potential pitfalls with regards to his career. Needless to say, they shouldn't arrive at a conclusion without proper consulting and personal reflection as time is an important aspect of one's life.