Students in many countries are encouraged to travel or work for a year before starting their university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to work or travel after finishing high school and starting education in a university.

In today's modern world, many students are planning to further their studies immediately after they finish school. However, there are a handful of people who assert that young teenagers should be given a chance to travel or work for at least one year before they really attend a university. Thus, it is important for us to establish both the positive and negative impacts on young people who plan to go on a trip or start to work before starting their tertiary education. Undoubtedly, there are numerous benefits if young people were to work or to travel around the world after they finish school. To begin, working or travelling helps the students to gain precious life experiences which are not available on textbooks. To illustrate, when young adults come out to work before attending a university, they are actually being offered a valuable opportunity to get into contact with others. It is crucial for them to develop interpersonal skills which play an indispensable role in their studies and their prospective jobs. In addition, if they were planned to go on a trip worldwide, they would, unquestionably, learn about the cultures and traditions of the locals which may be slightly or totally different from theirs. It, indirectly, widen their horizons and may help them to reduce the experience of culture shock when they arrive in a new place in the near future. Nevertheless, a coin always has another side. If they decide to work or to travel for a year, they may graduate later than their peers. The statistic of recent research conducted in Columbia has shown that memorising and interpreting abilities of a student deteriorate as they grow older. In other words, it means that they are likely highly not to achieve their aspirations due to the continual weakening of the mental abilities of their brains. Besides, they may have forgotten about the foundation of certain subjects that they have learnt in secondary school. Again, it will probably lead the students who start their tertiary education late fail to gain success in their academic performances. In conclusion, although there are both benefits and damaging consequences if they travel abroad or work after they finish school, I believe every individual can still strive hard and achieve their set goals regardless of life experience and age. Our nation will continue to prosper and flourish in the decades to come if more educated and knowledgeable generations are being raised up.