Students in many countries are encouraged to travel or work for a year before starting their university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to work or travel after finishing high school and starting education in a university.

There is no doubt that some young students are encouraged to work or travel a year after finishing high school. Some people assume that such a step is so beneficial to students while others oppose such ideas. In my point of view, I think this idea has both advantages and disadvantages. An advantage of travelling or working just after high school and before attending university is the change to learning new things and gaining valuable work experience. When young people decide to work instead of getting straight to the university, they will get accustomed to the work environment and learn about several skills upon which they can build their future. In this way, it can be definitely assumed that they will be more than ready for any future work, be it a university study or any other job. For example, my brother preferred to work when he finished high school with the aim of learning new skills. Upon completion of high school, he easily found a suitable job and impressed the employers with his experience while also attending his university classes. On the other hand, travelling or working instead of focusing on the university education has some negative impacts. When young people prefer to travel just after completing their high school, they may encounter cultural shocks. For example, one of my relatives decided to travel in young age and due to his immaturity and lack of knowledge of the outside world, he was utterly shocked by the customs and the way of life there. He was unable to get familiar with that community and was completely disappointed since he was unable to stay there. Consequently, his decision was against him because he did not get any benefit from his travelling. In conclusion, no one can deny that travelling or working during high school has its positive and negative impacts. So, high school students are highly recommended to know their abilities and readiness before embarking on working or travelling in order not to be shocked or otherwise.