In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, the debate whether young people should have a gap year after finishing high school to work or travel has caused a ruckus among myriads of parents. As almost everything in our world has its merits yet is overshadowed by its drastic consequences. In my opinion, I acquiesce that its pros outweigh its cons. With emphasis to my opinion, there is a vast plethora of merits regarding this highly disputatious issue. First and foremost, not only does it coerce young people to be more independent, but it also help them to feel more the value of money. For example, students may not feel how it is hectic to earn money until they personally experience it. Although others may have different standpoint, I personally believe that these are lagniappes that hordes of people, whether 7, 17 or 70 are reluctant to lose. Despite the obvious positives, one cannot turn a blind eye on the incontestable negatives. Firstly the most salient downside is that it may seem as a waste of time and superfluous to delay the university. Even though it may have a tiny impact on the academic level as students have to skip one year, I adamantly claim that on the other hand, students will benefit from this experience by gaining life lessons as being responsible and managing their time effectively. For example, maybe learning new life lessons may be more beneficial than scientific lessons. In conclusion, I have a resolute unwavering advocate that encouraging young people to develop themselves by going the extra mile is the bedrock of SUCCESS! Contrary, I suggest that parents should motivate them to do so and keep asking about them regularly. Furthermore, they may aid them financially in the first couple of months until they become fully independent and able to finance their needs.