In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Recently the topic whether to have a gap year between passing your high school with flying colours and actually entering the universities has become highly disputatious. Supporters validate, that that's very beneficial; because it makes students more responsible and it allows them to gain various information from different people. However, opponents proclaim that it has a plethora of negative; as it delays students one whole year to attend their university and because it's difficult for students to work, while they are still teenagers. In this essay we are going to discuss the pros and cons of this. It has been stated that there are myriads of perks, such as allowing young people to depend on themselves and gathering different information from various characters. If you travelled alone to another country, then you will have to be totally conscious; in order not to be stolen. In addition, that you will have to deal with different personalities in different places, which will definitely improve your communication skills. For example, My friend worked between her high school and university in Spain. Although she has a very good social skills, she was unable to socialize with tough and mean people. Despite the fact that she was coerced to learn Spanish, which was the cancer to her dreams and aspirations; in order to talk to the native people there, she ended up gathering a lot of knowledge about Spain and Europe in general. Working at such a young age build up their characters and widen their knowledge. Viewing the other side of the coin, not only do some people find working after high school useless, but also time-consuming. Despite the fact that students will gain information from working in such a young age, they will delay their university studies by one year. In addition to, that is might affect the psychology of the students negatively, that all of his friends are officially working and he is still studying at the university, and it is useless as he will not work with a high salary; because he is undergraduate. For example, If he gathered the money, which he will spend to travel and instead of travelling, he opened his own business, this will be much more profitable and beneficial. Investing the money in any business will definitely be a better choice. To cap it up, some people are motivated to have a gap year after finishing high school to work or travel by their own. Despite the fact that it helps to mature their personalities and enrich their knowledge, it wastes a lot of time and cost. I think that the positives outweigh the negatives; as it is essential to relax and be more mature before attending the university.