In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is apparent that in some of the countries, parents and teachers encourage children to take a year to study or visit after their schooling and before entering into the university studies. In this essay, I will discuss some of the benefits And negatives resulting from this trend. Firstly, looking at some of the significant benefits, when children take a year of time to travel or work, they will have ample time to find their interests and decide what they intend to become in their life and know the real world. This is because they have not had an adequate time to see what the real world is as they have been studying their studies since they were very young and they are exposed with little real-world knowledge which is vital in these days. To illustrate this, a recent survey done by National Geography revealed that those children who took a year of time to travel or work are extremely happier in their work than those who did not this opportunity. If children did not take any time to travel or work after school, they might regret in their life that they should have studied something that would have helped them in life, they might choose to finish their university studies without knowing what they are interested in and they might not have an opportunity to interact with the professional in the workplace. However, there are some negatives associated with this. Firstly, they may be distracted by different things, making them shift their focus on other things since they are exposed to a lot of things around them. Secondly, they may feel uncomfortable with others and lag behind their peers in studies since they study with one year younger students. Finally, they can sometimes discontinue their studies as they may lose their interests in studies In conclusion, although they can reap some benefits such as choosing to study what are willing to, negatives should be taken into account when making a decision about travelling or working for a year before their university study.