In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

It is believed in some countries that youngsters should be motivated either to find a job or to travel for a whole year after finishing school and before the start of higher education studies. Young people working or travelling can learn the value of money and improve their self-esteem but there are also disadvantages that should be considered. On the one hand, there is a number of advantages to youngsters decided to be engaged to work or travel. Firstly, one benefit of working is that they can learn the value of money. It is crucial as they can realize how hard it is to earn money and the importance of saving up for the future. Secondly, travelling and working for young people is advantageous because it can improve their self-esteem. If they travel or do work, they will get experience and skills which are important for their future such as patience. As a result, they will able to deal with different circumstances that they may face. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to traveling and working of young people. One problem is that traveling might lead to unneeded money expenses. In other words, the money budget of traveling could be used instead to pay college fees later on. Another possible issue is that there are activities might be more important than traveling and working they can do to improve their skills such as taking workshops in leadership or learning foreign languages. For example, those who have the ability to lead could manage to be the head of student union in college which might benefit them in finding job opportunities in the future. such as In conclusion, while youngsters can learn from the value of money and enhance their self-esteem from traveling or engaging in work, it can also lead to some disadvantageous.