In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In this concurrent era, younger generation generally get encouraged to join work or travel during gap between secondary school and starting tertiary education. However, the trend of starting job can ensure living life independently but can also lead to certain drawbacks. The most significant benefit to joining work before higher studies is that youngsters can get experience and some amount of money due to that they can afford their expense themselves and also can support house expenses as a result they might reduce financial burden of their family. Moreover, younger can gain knowledge about work and also can learn many skills namely leadership, communication and many others which could help them in higher education or in future job. Another upside is that by visiting new places, young adults can learn new culture, language as well as meet new people and alliance with them which will help to guide them for getting job in their place or country as a result they can make a bright future. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to initiating work at an early age, this may disrupt interest in education because they get eager to earn more money they stick with their work which can reduce the curiosity about to get high degree and sometimes students left their study. Even worse, arranging trip for a long period may affect their financial budget because some deprived populations spend ample amount of money on travelling of youngsters due to that sometimes fiscal problem may arise in families. To conclude, while begin to work has benefit to the youngsters like they can economically support to their parents and by travelling to a new places, they can learn about new cultures and traditions but they also have to deal with the downsides such as sticking with the work may interrupt their studies and travelling far place may create financial issues especially for those who are less privileged.