In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Is travelling for a year between finishing high school and starting university study waste of time and unbeneficial? While some of people believe that, I am of the opinion that it has tremendous benefits. In this essay, I will firstly discuss how it will enhance students' personality, then, I will discuss how it can help them studying what they want in the university. To begin with, travelling for a year before starting university studies can help students to improve their personality and communication skills. This is due to the face that they will meet new people from different cultures and face new cases that they may have never faced before. As a result, they most likely will gain a better life experience than students who did not travel. For instance, research from the University of Jordan showed that students who travel during the summer that between finishing school and starting university have better life skills than who did not. To clarify, travelling has wonderful pros, such as it can help students to enhance their life skills. Furthermore, travelling can help students to gain some money, which may help them to complete their bachelor study. In fact, studying some majors is extremely expensive, which lead many students who do not have enough money to study a subject that different than their favourite one because of money. For example, a report from a local television station called Al Jazeera illustrated that more than 30% of the student who are studying in the Jordanian universities, are studying a course that they did not want from the start, but they did not have the required money that allows them to study what they want. Clearly, this feature may allow you collect some money that may help you complete your favourite university degree. To conclude, I am convinced that allowing students to travel after completing their secondary studies has remarkable advantages. It can make them better people, which allow them to face the life in a better way. In addition, it could help them to collect some money to start studying their desired university course.