In some countries young people are encouraged to work for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

In recent years, the young generations are supported to take a gap year after graduating high schools. This essay will provide both benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, taking a year out can offer beneficial effects on graduates. In the first place, they can handle their financial problems. For instance, they can search for some jobs which not required university degree such as: nail-makers, beauticians, waiters. According to the survey of a newspaper in Vietnam (2015), the income of a beautician is nearly 40 million VND per month, which is higher five-times than an office staff’s income. Additionally, those who dropping university can gain an enormous number of experiences and skills from the gap year. Working volunteer in non-profitable organizations is one salient example in this situation. The students can make new friends, help people, learn such skills as teamwork, time-management, interpersonal skills. On the other hand, skipping university can have some drawbacks for students. Firstly, they cannot have a higher degree to look for white-colar jobs such as teachers, doctors, interpreters or translators. For example, in order to be a translator, the students have to study foreign languages and translation skills which cannot be provided without university. The second impact is that the students will lose their interest in studying and researching because of the relaxing breaks. As a result, they will experience a variety of obstacles to earn their living. In conclusion, although taking a gap year provides finances and experiences for students, this trend can have bad effects on their study career.