In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are people who think that having their offspring when they are older is the best choice to make. Because society’s changes like giving more opportunities to women to have jobs and improve career-wise may be the reasons to make this decision. The benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Women have the opportunities to apply and get different type of jobs unlike years ago; therefore, people do not consider having children the first priority on their lives anymore. For instance, the number of women who are housewife has reduced lately, because now they can also be an economic support for their household by applying to jobs and working as the men have used to do always. On the other hand, education regulations have also changed in most of the countries in order to give women the chance to study and get technical or professional degrees to serve the community and work to fulfill themselves. Universities, for example, are the proof that women have continued their studies after finishing high school and it supports the idea of women having children at older ages after finalizing their career studies. In regards to the aforementioned, the benefits exceed the disadvantages, these last could be relating to the advanced aged when the women decide to have a baby. Consequently, babies could born with deformities to which the medical advances have reduced this risk and would probably keep doing so until this will no longer be a problem. In saying so, women’s improvement on social opportunities and respect about their rights outweigh the cons. To conclude, people are deciding to have children when they are older, because the women are taking a different role on society and the education opportunities which highlight their purposes on life exceed the disadvantages.