In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Genetic engineering all over the world has been developing more since duplication of the sheep called Dolly found. There are benefits and downsides in this great biotechnology. I will argue that the genetic engineering has allowed us to live longer and to live a better life. However, I think that we should consider its unexpected and negative effects at a same time. To begin with, people can live longer with treatment and they can eat much better food from GMO products. For instance, after the stem cell was discovered, incredibly, many patients who were suffering from incurable diseases could be treated with new genetic treatments. In addition, genetically manipulated crops have so strong resistance against pests that we can eat good quality food and it is also environmentally-friendly because of the decreasing usage of pesticides and fertilizers. Hence, I’ve asserted that genetic engineering makes us healthier and our life expectancy becomes longer. In contrast, we shouldn’t overlook the negative aspects of the genetic engineering. The development of the genetic engineering can lead to ethical issues and side effects. We don’t know enough about these problems yet because genetic engineering has only been around 30 years. In fact, Dolly as a successful result, lived for 7 years, but they had some problems. Therefore, I believe that genetic engineering can be dangerous, so that we should take into account its problems when they arise. In conclusion, although there are some downsides, I think that genetic engineering should be encouraged in order to help people live better lives however, we should consider the negative effects.