In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

As compared to the past decade; it has been observed that trend of staying as a tenant has increased in many parts of the world. Some people find it comfortable to stay as a tenant; whereas others like to own the property they reside at. Advantages of owing the house certainly outweighs the advantages of living as a tenant. I shall discuss this phenomenon in more detail with valid arguments and examples in the following paragraphs. To begin with, one of the most important benefit of being a house owner is the assurance of financial stability. By owing the house, it means that person is financially sound. Furthermore, there is no interference of landlord and privacy is well maintained. Owner can renovate or do the maintenance as per their own desire at any given time. Thus, having an own house is super beneficial in many aspects. To elucidate it further, house is a valuable asset and it can be helpful in difficult circumstances. As house can be rented and it can become source of income. For instance, I live in a colony whereby people have owned 4-5 houses and their only income resource is payments of their tenants. Despite of innumerable advantages of being a house owner, there are certain advantages to live in a rented house that cannot be overlooked. It gives mobility liberty to the residents as they can move to another place easily without any issue of selling or closing down the house. What’s more, tenants doesn’t have to pay any expenses for house maintenance. To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, I opine that rational approach is to have own house. Benefits of this approach outweighs the advantages of living in a rented place. People should tend to build or purchase their own homes as it will not only save their money from monthly fare but will also be beneficial from investment perspective.