Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

Recycling wastes produced at home may not been done enough according to some people, reason why they think governments should make it a legal requirement. In my opinion, I do believe that there is a need to establish laws to encourage recycling in households in order to foster the waste segregation, but there is also needed local government laws to oblige them to build specific places to where the different type of wastes are sent instead of the landfill. On one hand, waste segregation laws could be argue because some governments do not offer any segregated transportation for them, so it would not have sense to collect the garbage and transport it to the landfill as a final disposal. However, these type of legislation would be useful to establish it in places where people do not have the culture of recycling. In Cali, for example, where citizens usually pack their wastes in plastic bags without caring for separating the trash by colors. Hence, laws would help regulate this aspect of the solid waste management system and to increase the amount of waste recycled as well. On the other hand, building waste facilities besides landfills would certainly increase the trash that is collected in cities or communities in general; therefore, local governments’ laws are also significant because they would require the administration of the cities to offer technology for waste recovery after collecting the segregated trash from the households. For instance, organized countries that have environmental issues as a foremost factor of their development, have a complete structure to ensure a well waste management such technological parks where trash are converted into different products or even supplies for industries. To conclude, I believe laws are necessary to improve the recycling activity at home, because these would help people segregate the wastes and would also have the governments to work for their local needs related to waste management by offering an accurate treatment instead of final disposal of useful wastes.