In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that an increasing number of people choose to bear their first child later. This essay will discuss the causes of this phenomenon and argues that it possesses more benefits to both individuals and society. The reluctance of people to have their children early mainly caused by two reasons. First of all, the ever intensified competition among employees impedes their willingness to be young parents. As individuals need to devote all their energy and time to secure a position in their workplace, it is unlikely for them to have enough spare time to bear and raise a child. In addition, the enhanced social equality acts as another vital reason. This is because women are promised with the same rights as men have that they can work or study based on their own willingness, resulting in the reduced possibility for them to have their children in early age. As for its influences, there is no doubt that both people and nations could derive more benefits from bearing children late. To begin with, without the need to look after a baby, people are able to pursue their desired lifestyles, such as travelling around the world or receiving a higher education, which increases their satisfaction towards their life. Moreover, governments can expect to spend cut on financial assistance to those families who have young children to raise. If the public funds can be allocated to the areas that stimulate the economic growth directly, for instance, the manufacturing industry and agriculture sector, the nation will achieve an accelerated development of its economy. In conclusion, the fierce competition among individuals and improved social equality are two vital reasons that decrease people’s will to have a child, while this development is associated with more advantages.