In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures can be taken to solve them?

Some people believe that individuals who visit foreign countries are more open-minded than people who do not travel, and they readily accept and adapt to other cultures. Personally, I agree with this statement because of the reasons which will be discussed in the following essay. To begin with, travelling allows people to interact with different cultures, and, as a result, this social interaction can affect their personality to a great extent. In other words, when people go to different countries, they have to face unfamiliar situations and deal with diverse people. Experiencing such strange circumstances does not only make them broaden their horizon but also make them more adaptable to people in different circumstances. According to a University of California study, people who travel more become more tolerant to change, and therefore, they become more accepting when it comes to different cultures. Conversely, people who are not exposed to different cultures by travelling might be narrow-minded compared to people who travel overseas frequently. Before people start travelling, it is easy to get into a comfortable little corner where the world revolves around what they believe, and what they believe is shaped by what their parents taught them and what they hear on the local news. Therefore, it is not only extremely challenging for them to embrace change, but also it is inconvenient for them to understand and accept people who live a different lifestyle. In conclusion, people who travel more learn acceptance and tolerance to others because they are exposed to various cultures, whereas people who do not travel are less open to understanding other individuals. Personally, I believe that this statement is accurate.