In many countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures can be taken to solve them?

That these days many people are suffering from the increasing trend of obesity and the decreasing level of well-being, fitness and exercise in their lives continues to be a perturbing issue. There might be a number of fundamental rationales existence of which causes these grave predicaments. However, some instrumental measures can be taken to tackle them. First and foremost, nowadays the main origin of increasing body weight could come from the excessive consumption of junk foods. Fast food restaurants spending a huge amount of their budget on promoting their fatty and mouth-watering foods on TVs and the internet, people will gorge on them. Therefore, every day a large population will be attracted by these tempting advertisements with no inkling of the detrimental consequences of these meals on their bodies, such as diabetes or cardiovascular diseases in the wake of being overweight. Furthermore, another factor creating the obesity could be the sedentary lifestyle of people. Those individuals the work and academic responsibilities of whom is burdensome do not have enough time to work out. And even when they find some me time, they would prefer to be a couch potato, and just watch a movie on TV; because they feel both mentally and physically so exhausted -after working their finger to the bone or hitting the books- to do any physical activity. Turning to possible solutions associated with food advertising via conventional media, imposing strict censorship on these advertisements seems quite beneficial. Actually should the government start to put a ban on pushing unwholesome, people, especially children, the main target of these ads, will not purchase unhealthy foods. Moreover, promoting health awareness among people could be efficacious as well. For example, if the government start to inform people about catastrophic consequences of junk foods and inactiveness not only will they be alerted, but it will also make them go for a better lifestyle which includes more wholesome diets and regular exercises to improve their health circumstances. To sum up, this is a problem that derives from both inactive lifestyle and tempting advertisements of social media, and the solutions will require government’s help in both aspects to stop the calamitous results.