In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures can be taken to solve them?

It is true that the number of people in some countries is suffering from obesity and other health issues. This essay will evaluate the inactive lifestyles and incorrect food choices as the main causes of these problems and suggest viable solutions. The primary contributing factors for people being overweight is the sedentary lifestyle. The inactivity of a person can lead to less burning of fats in the body resulting in an accumulated weight. For instance, the University of New South Wales conducted a survey on student’s activities, and found out that 80% of the respondents who have less physical activities were above the average normal weight. Another factor that can influence this condition is the unhealthy eating habits of the population. The presence of fast foods is prevalent in every corner of the streets, making it the ultimate choice. The excess consumption of fats and sugar that cannot be burned to energy will be deposited in the body as unwanted fats. However, there are effective measures to address the problem. Firstly, the government can sponsor an awareness program that will raise awareness and warn the public of the potential health problems associated with obesity. This program, which includes promotion of community exercise, will help the people to create a healthy environment. Finally, individual initiative and self-determination to change their lifestyles and eating habits can result to an improved health. For example, the UK “Five Fruits Diet” implemented in some cities reduced the obesity level by 20%. This is an indication of how effective a government program can be. In conclusion, although there are causes of obesity such as lifestyle and poor eating habits, these problems are not considered insurmountable. The government can tackle the issue by an effective awareness campaign.