In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is argued that many people nowadays aren't healthy when compared to people in the 1990s. One of the main reasons of this issue is obesity especially seen in younger people. There are many factors to this problem, and I certainly believe that we can solve this matter at hand if the proper steps are taken. One of the main causes of weight gain in people is that there is a huge hike in the number of fast food chains. In other words, many restaurants such as McDonalds, KFC and Popeyes have opened up in recent times, and this has encouraged people to buy from them due to easy access. One of my friends, for example, used to weigh only 115 pounds and because of a restaurant that open its doors right next to her house, she started buying food from them which eventually made her gain 50 pounds in a span of just one month. That is why, a growing number of such restaurants have impacted people's health negatively. One solution for this issue could be charging higher taxes on such companies which would eventually shoot prices up and thereby discourage people from buying from them. Secondly, pricey gym memberships is another factor for obesity in people. To be specific, in order to be more profitable, gyms have increased their membership prices overtime thus demotivating people from working out. To quote, I personally used to like excercising at my nearest gym until the workout centre hiked its membership price. For obvious reasons, I quit going there which discouraged me from working out altogether, thereby contributing to my weight gain. One measure for this problem could be providing incentives to excercise centres which would help them reduce their prices. In conclusion, the positive health rate of people have been in a decreasing trend partly because of obesity. Furthermore, weight gain in people is more common nowadays due to a peak in the amount of fast food chains and increasing gym membership prices.