In some countries, employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries, employees are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time. Considering the needs of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have?

The amount of appropriate holiday leaves is debatable. Although some countries normally provide two weeks of paid annual leaves, others may give up to six weeks for their employees. In my opinion, I believe that every organisation should give the maximum amount of vacation time, in order to reduce the work pressure and to retain their employees, which will be discussed further in the essay below. On the employees perspective, having a 6weeks yearly vacation can improve their mental health significantly. This is due to the fact that work environment often produces stress and pressures, which can directly affect to their well-being. The Japanese workers, for instance, have the highest number of suicide attempts, as the subordinates often were forced to do unpaid overtime jobs with limited holidays period. If the workers are given enough time for vacations, this will lead them to be more content and have greater motivations to go to the office. Therefore, higher paid annual leaves tend to affect the employee's mental health positively. On the employers perspective, providing a higher amount of yearly leaves can increase the loyalty of the workers. This is because of the increase in job satisfaction, which other companies may not be able to offer. According to 'The Economist', many organisations in Australia generally offer up 7weeks of yearly leaves, in order to retain their employees. Moreover, survey discovered that they are willing to put extra work and would rather choose holidays period over salaries. Hence, offering more vacation time can greatly impact the employer, since they will likely to be more loyal to the company. In conclusion, although the number of reasonable paid vacations is widely argued, I believe that giving a higher holidays towards the workers are generally beneficial for both the employee and organisations.