In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing.

Over the last ten years, there are increasing numbers of overweight people around the world and at the same time, unfortunately, people do less exercise and have more health problems. Indeed, it is not a surprise that the number of fast food restaurants has increased and people have started to be busy and some of them lazy. This essay will discuss two reasons why this has occurred and examine the consequences of this worrying trend. The main cause of the problem of obesity is the prolific increase in the number of fast food restaurants. For example, MacDonald’s, Hungry Jack’s, Pizza Hut. The advertisement of these restaurants focused on children to attract their attention, thus, increasing the number of customers amongst children.   However, not only this, hard working people do not have time to prepare a healthy food at home, instead, they buy processed food such as sausages and meatballs in the closest stores. Also, in the rapidly developing society, there is a need to work harder and spend more hours at the workplace. The measures of this problem have been and will continue to be taken. Firstly, in the TV famous people need to talk more about obesity as a major problem around the world that leads to serious health consequences such as diabetes. Secondly, it is important to promote a healthy lifestyle and life-work balance, which already have been done and will continue to be done. Not only this, great development was introduced to the market, which helps to measure how many steps did a person do during the day. If people start to use it, this will encourage them to do more necessary exercise during the day. To sum up, it is evident that there are several causes of obesity and a variety of negative effects. Society must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from deteriorating further.