In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing.

Weight and health of a person are inter-related aspects. Nowadays, it seems that obesity has become a significant concern in some countries, as a result people there are getting relatively unhealthy than before. In this essay, the factors relating to over-weight and the ways to tackle them would be discussed. There seem to be various reasons on why people become a victim of obesity. Firstly, the popularity of public and private vehicles have, to a large extent, discouraged people from walking to their works, shopping places etc. Secondly, there are few people who are regularly involved in some forms of exercises to burn their calories. Furthermore, the increasing trend of intake of junk foods like noodles, chips and cafeteria products as burgers, pizzas etc. have significantly contributed to dumping calories in people. For example, a guy from my neighbourhood does not go to the gym and takes a large amount of high-calorie fast foods. As a result, his weight is 74 kg while he is only 20 years old. Modifications in sedentary lifestyles and proper diet could certainly address the problem to a large extent. To be more specific, consumption of calorie should be done according to the body requirements, by calculating the age, height-weight ratio.   Diet should be balanced, inclusive of fats, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals in required quantities rather than just oily and spicy. Additionally, exercises are also inevitable factors for a healthy body and it should be encouraged among all age groups. One should be motivated to give up sedentary habits and lead a more active life by walking, running, jogging, going to the gym etc. Therefore, I would like to conclude that inappropriate food habits and non-active lifestyles are the contributors to obesity which can only be dealt with careful meal planning and calorie burning activities.