In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing.

Weight-related issues have been on the rise in certain countries resulting in fitness levels moving towards a downward trail. The cause of the issue and preventive measures that can be taken is addressed in this article. The major causes of weight gain in human beings can be attributed to dietary habits and a sedentary lifestyle. The human body is primarily designed to do physical work to digest the food consumed. Inadequate physical exercise leads to fat getting deposited mostly around the stomach and waist areas. Modern food habits are also a major contributor to weight gain. Excess consumption of processed and fatty foods can result in an obese and disease-prone body. Technological development has produced machines that perform work which was once done entirely by humans. This has caused human beings to become lazy and rely on machines even for the smallest possible physical work. Research has shown that citizens of countries whose government emphasis on physical activities (sports) in schools and universities lead a disease-free life. While the issue of weight gain is a serious one, there are a number of simple measures that can be taken to address it. A personal acquaintance of mine had major issues with obesity. Regulated food habits, combined with a disciplined lifestyle and plenty of physical exercises worked wonders for him. Within a matter of months, he became leaner, fitter and extremely cheerful. Governments should create health-awareness programs that throw light on the ill-effects of weight gain and the numerous benefits of maintaining good health. Public swimming pools, jogging grounds should be provided and citizens must avail them at every opportunity. As the old adage goes “A sound mind resides in a sound body”. It is the responsibility of each individual to maintain proper body weight and set an example to their near and dear ones to achieve the goal of a disease-free society.