In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What are the main causes and what measures could be taken to solve these problems?

In this fast-paced world, several countries are witnessing a rise in obesity and associated health challenges among their population. In my opinion, there are various factors such as sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits that cause these issues. However, several measures can be taken to curb these problems. Factors that contribute to obesity are manifold. The advent of information technology has seen a drastic change in lifestyle. Jobs are desk-bound and involve limited physical activity. Further, these jobs entail late work hours. As a result, people tend to rely on ready-to-eat food, rich in fats and salt content, rather than home cooked food. Lack of physical activity, coupled with fast food consumption has resulted in a rapid increase in average weight of people across several countries, impacting their health. For example, a study conducted in the UK indicates that the average weight of an individual in the 20th century is 28% more than the average weight of individuals in the 19th century. This study has also seen a corresponding increase in associated non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, arthritis and cardiac problems. Obesity, and its linked health challenges are one of the leading concerns that several countries face. However, there are measures that people can take to counter these issues. One measure is to incorporate physical activity. Simple exercises such as walking, jogging or yoga increases physical fitness. Several studies have found that these activities release hormones called endorphins that promote physical and mental well being. Another measure is to consume a balanced and nutritious diet. Fruits and green leafy vegetables are rich in fibre and help combat obesity by giving people a sense of fullness. Today, many public and private sector companies are incorporating campaigns to create awareness on the above mentioned measures to promote a healthy lifestyle for their employees. To conclude, factors such as awareness, physical activity and dietary control help in combating obesity. Individuals should implement these measures to attain good health.