Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solutions are there to this problem?

These days global warming is discussed widely in the mainstream media as one of the most concerning environmental issues that our earth has been facing for the last couple of decades. The causes of this issue include, but not limited to excessive consumption of fossil fuels and increasing deforestation around the world. However, the solution to this problem lies in alternate energy sources and preservation and restoration of forests. With the rise of industrialization, fossil fuel consumption has also increased significantly. This rise in fossil fuel demand accelerated the carbon footprint in the atmosphere all around the earth and triggered global temperatures to rise tremendously. Moreover, a large number of forests have been clear-cut across different parts of the globe to meet the demands of the latest lifestyles. These forests are considered as the earth’s lungs which not only absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen into the atmosphere, but also maintain humidity levels in the air. But unfortunately, as these forests are chopped down, the earth is becoming warmer and vulnerable to the effects of global warming. According to a report published by the UN, dependence on fossil fuel and the rate of deforestation has tripled since 1950’s and it is anticipated that if no concrete measures are taken in time to control these trends, people will soon be compelled to buy oxygen to breathe. Despite the deteriorating situation, there is still hope that global warming can be tackled and its effects can be reversed by re-engineering people’s behaviours and practices around the world. However, fossil fuels cannot be replaced immediately, but a gradual shift to alternative energy sources can make a big difference. Many countries have started to move towards renewable energy sources such as hydro, solar and wind. Besides industries, according to a survey, a major part of fossil fuel is also burned by motor vehicles. Therefore, countries have also taken initiatives to reduce the number of vehicles by introducing mass transit systems in cities. Some governments encourage their people to buy electric-powered cars by offering them tax credits. In addition to reducing fossil fuel demand, preserving and restoring forests is another definite solution to overcome global warming. Saving existing trees and planting new ones will not only contribute to strengthening nature’s air filtration process but it will also help in reducing global temperatures to appropriate levels. Some countries are found in taking some significant initiatives in this regard. For example, recently, Ethiopia set a world record by planting 350 million trees to designated areas in the country within 12 hours. Environmentalists predict that this will surely reduce the effects of global warming which the country has been facing for decades. In conclusion, despite several factors, burning fossil fuels in huge quantities and cutting down forests are the major causes of global warming. However, reducing reliance on fuels for energy needs by switching to renewable energy sources, and preservation and reforestation are the solutions to this problem.