In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

With the drastically economic development, the changing of sales methods and sizes leads to many controversial issues in the modern world. Nowadays, people tend driving to the out-of-town mega supermarket making the small town-center shops go out of business. Consequently, people without cars meet the difficulty in accessing to out-of-town stores, and it may increase the car population in the near future. In my opinion, the disadvantages are more worth to consider than the benefits. In some perspectives, the changing of business method can brings back a few advantages. As we all know, small shop is absolutely going to obsolete in the near future and the disappearance of these shops can make the management of the government much more easier when the government just have to control specific mega shopping center. The saving budget from managing the detached shops can be transferred into the transportation expense to upgrade the transport systems. The lower proportion of center shops also motivates people purchasing cars which definitely merges the total economic growth. However, I think that the negative effects that the changing created are more remarkable. In some third-world countries or developing countries, a car is an unaffordable transportation with major civilians. For example, in Vietnam, purchasing personal car is a luxurious thing for only high class. If the extinction of small center shops comes true, most of Vietnam’s citizens cannot access the rural large shopping center to buy merchandise. Although considering developed countries, this changing still leads to many drawbacks. For instance, the more residents drive cars, the more regular traffic congestions happen. To conclude, the fact that small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores can bring out more drawbacks than the advantages. I highly recommend that the government should remain the existence of center shops until fully developing the transport system and the economics.