In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

These days, more and more people prefer to do shopping at large malls rather than small local stores. It is often said that this trend may have negative effects on shoppers who have not their own cars and it could contribute to increase in automobile usage. This essay will outline the benefits and drawbacks of this trend and provide my overall opinion. From an overall perspective, there are a number of advantages of doing shopping by going to large shopping malls where are placed relatively far away from the local stores. Perhaps the main advantage of this trend is that big stores offer people to have access of variety of products in a single building, as a result, they might not need to go to another shopping centre to find an another product which they need. A good illustration of this is that a person can both purchase a computer and some grocery products in a modern large shopping mall, whereas they could not find those products in a local store simultaneously. Despite these arguments, these are also various disadvantages. One of the most obvious of these is that people who have not a personal car could not access easily to large out-of-town stores. As a result of this, their shopping preferences might be limited. A further point against this is that the large malls may cause to decrease in competitiveness in the market. If a store will be a monopoly in the market, product prices are highly likely settled by these stores, which could negatively affect on the consumers’ favour. Another one, it may cause growth in the use of automobiles, which may result in the air pollution by increasing carbon emissions. To conclude, I am of the opinion that going for shopping to large out-of-town stores has had an overall negative effect on the people’s favour and nature.