In some countries, people buy clothes and choose hair styles according to the latest fashion. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the advent of the twentieth century, people are increasingly taking more time, resources and effort to buy clothes and other cosmetic products, according to the newest trend. In this essay, I will explain its reasons and the how that can be detrimental to the society. To start with, there are many reasons why people are spending too much for flaunting the latest fashion trend. Firstly, it makes people feel good in themselves, which in turn can boost their confidence. Secondly, being clothed in the new fad makes the youngsters look stylish that can raise their confidence levels. For example, it is widely known that the youngsters these days are ready to spend any amount in order to look stylish. Finally, wearing different varieties of clothes makes them attractive to the opposite sex. Thus, because of the natural affinity of mankind to look good, they have been spending increasingly on recently released clothing items. However, the status quo of such a mindset can be hugely detrimental to the society, at large. Not only do people would need to spend so much more time on grooming themselves, but also they would need to spend way higher to look better. For instance, it is an accepted fact that there are no direct results to be derived from looking better by wearing clothes and other accessories in the current form. Additionally, middle income families would need to keep aside a big chunk of their income to adopt themselves to the latest fad, which stems as a result of the requirement to merge into the society like everyone else. To conclude, the adoption of the latest fashion trend can be shown to bring in no direct results despite its cost and time requirements. Nevertheless, people worldwide is increasingly spending on upgrading their accessories to feel good about themselves.