Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give relevant examples from your knowledge?

Without knowing English it is almost impossible to be a citizen of Earth. Thus, in many schools learning it is the most important part of education. Even though I believe that English plays a crucial role in our life, it can also be dangerous to the local languages. As stated before, English is a really big factor in our lives. It enables us to communicate with people from all around the world. Apart from being useful for making new, international friends, English is also the language of business. Without it we are not able to get the desired job, so schools do everything to teach their students how to use it so that they are ready to go on a job market. However, we as a society cannot forget about our local languages. They may not be international - like English. But they also play an important role in our history and our lives. Through local languages - like Kaszubski in Poland - we can learn about our ancestors and keep their traditions alive. To do that we should put local languages in the school timetables and teach them to students, starting very early on. There are lots of useless subjects that could be replaced with lessons in our local languages. That way every student would leave school with knowledge of both English and his local language. In conclusion, I think teaching English should be as important as teaching local languages. And even though English may seem like the most important language of all, we should not forget about the local ones and make sure they are not at risk of extinction