In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying both in and after school, and have less free time. Do you think it has the positive or negative effects on children and society?

In some nations, parents have a tendency to put pressure on their children, which force them to spend excessive hours on studying and to ignore leisure activities. This essay argues that this trend exerts detrimental effects on students and the whole society. The essay will firstly discuss how extended hours of studying during and after school would reduce students’ productivity, and secondly, discuss how this trend has negative impact on children’s mental health. To begin with, a counter effect of excessive study hours is that it diminishes students’ overall performance. In other words, the learning outcome is negatively proportionate to the long time spent on academic matters. This is because extended and continuous studying duration would make children mentally exhausted, attenuating their concentration capacity and ability to assimilate novel knowledge. As a result, even though students invest a lot of time in learning school subjects, their productivity is not as high as they expected. For instance, research results show that 80% of youngsters who invest at least 8 hours in doing assignments and reviewing lessons, both at school and at home, do not score as high as those spending just 4 hours, indicating that the exorbitant amount of study time may lead to worse performance. Moreover, juveniles would probably suffer from some psychological problems if they are forced to study incessantly without resting. More specifically, having to learn an overwhelming amount of information in such a long period would make students feel overloaded, stressed and even suffer some chronic depression. As a result, the declined happiness level is likely to give rise to dissatisfaction with students' surroundings and anti-social behaviours which, consequently, may harm the community they live in. For example, a report demonstrates that most of malleable children who are forced to study non-stop to achieve good academic results would sooner or later act aggressively towards their family and teachers because they cannot withstand the pressure anymore. In conclusion, incessant studying with reduced leisure time would diminish children's productivity and negatively influence their mental conditions. Therefore, I believe this trend has detrimental impacts on both the individual and the society.