In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying both in and after school, and have less free time. Do you think it has the positive or negative effects on children and society?

It's true that most of parents'd rather their children spent more time on studying and cut down free time. While I accept that this statement offers lots of benefits; I believe that it also has several drawbacks. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why studying both in and after school is positive to children. First of all, knowledge is valuable so studying for a long time will help children grow up better. For instance, acquiring knowledge about some subjects at school such ad Maths, Physics, Sciences or Arts, . . . especially English can bring more good opportunities to their career in the future. The next reason is that spending less free tim means that it can restrict students to overuse the Internet, which have detrimental implication on their physical and mental helath. On the Internet, some violent and bad news can distort their way of thinking about their families, friends and society. On the other hand, paralleling with these conducive effects, learning too much without relaxing also affect juveniles badly. Firstly, less free time can make them to develop unequally. They may have the lack of soft skills like communication skill or have butterflies on their stomach when speaking publicly. As a result, they will find it difficult to adapt to this modern world. Last but not least, immersing themselves in studying all day long may affect their feeling. In my highschool, there was a girl killing herself due to lypemania after bring overwhelmed with learning for a long time. In conclusion, after weighing the pros and cons, I would say that juveniles should devote time to expand their knowledge and chill out appropriately.