In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner.

Its an undeniable fact that marriage is one of the pivotal factor in deciding the trajectory of the one' s growth and attaining mental peace in life. Perfect partner is desired by everyone and process of choosing the partner is tedious and complex one. Nowadays choosing one' s own partner is very common and arranged marriages are losing their grip. In this essay I am going to discuss about advantages and disadvantages of both the aspects. Due to increased gender equality most of the schools, colleges and universities are co-education and it is obvious to develop feelings for someone. Further, with increased audacity among the young age population the love marriage approach is now considered as safer and easier. Partners usually get time to understand each other and evaluate the compatibility between them to avoid any issues post marriage. Parents have also changed themselves over the period of time and accepted this changed approach due to the fact that they can prevent the resources employed for searching a partner and even after so much scrutiny in arranged marriage, chances of successful marriage are negligible. On the other hand, some parents in rural areas or highly reputed people still want their children to get married as per their consent and choice. This aspect is sometimes beneficial because parents tend to enquire about family history before they make any decision and with involvement of elder people from both the sides ensure that there is no surprise before marriage. However, imposing decision on children without their consent can plunge the children into cauldron of hate and rage. Even though, both factors have equal advantages and disadvantages but I feel that liberty to choose life partner should lie with the person itself and one should take consent of parents as well before deciding.