In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner.

Marriages in many countries are a complicated issue triggering public controversy at any given moment in history. While most people believe that marriages which are arranged by the parents are completely wrong, I think that it is not completely wrong and even it can be right in certain circumstances. This essay will present my own position in such a phenomenon. On the one hand, there are many reasons why a majority of people claim that ones should choose their own partners. Many countries allow young adults to determine their partner who they would agree to share their lives with. As it is usually the case, the freedom to choose a marriage partner facilitates wholesome relationship between individuals, one based on compassion and understanding. This would have a positive impact on the emotions and bonds of the couple, making them feel more connected and fulfilled in life. In addition, since the law have put emphasis on the necessity that people should make decisions on nearly every aspect of their lives, the influence of parents on their children when it comes to marriages has become inconsequential. On the one hand, arranged marriages are common place anywhere in the world and I would argue that this outlook has both negative and positive. As regards the cons, many young adults are forced to put up with the ones they have no genuine affection, which could be seen as a vice in modern society. This makes the possibility of divorce is increased since the groom and bride do not love each other. However, in terms of pros, since the parents are older, they are considered more prudent; therefore, their willpower would ultimately shape the marriages of all children in the family. By arranging marriage, parents can protect their children from negative relationships like unwanted pregnancy. Additionally, among the aristocracy, parents have been orchestrating the marriages of their children to make sure that they tie the knot between two families who have equal social status. As a result, these parents assume that the benefit of arranged marriage outstrips the drawback in the long run. In conclusion, I believe that arranged marriages are right in some cases due to their own benefit. Besides, I agree with this Paulo Coelho’s quote “Nothing in the world is ever completely wrong. Even a stopped clock is right twice a day”.