In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner.

The number of divorced couples is far high in countries which practice a tradition to arrange marriages, while this is significantly less in democratic countries; nonetheless, those countries appear to continue the tradition despite the substantial number of divorce. In my opinion, marriages should not be predetermined in terms of demography and economy. Arranged marriages have a direct contribution to the reduced number of birthrate since couples who are forced to get married usually get divorced within a year without having a chance to conceive a child. This practice is conducted and believed to be successful among wealthy families since it is undesirable to share their fortune with plebs; however, it is the unsuccessful approach for average since they constitute of the main proportion of overall population. Thus, the more predetermined marriages, especially among the middle-class population, the less number of birthrate, which, in turn, decreases the chance of a country to prosper as the country will experience employee scarcity in the foreseeable future. The decreased number of population inevitably affects economy of a country since it shrinks the number of taxpayers and laborers, which triggers a myriad of social problems. The government with negative budget balance, for instance, can not afford to construct infrastructures, which is vital to prosper and to develop for a country. Moreover, when those couples who divorced due to arranged marriages, as a result lack of any children, are predicted to be an additional burden to the governmental budget since the government will have taken care of them when they are retired. The tradition of arranging marriage has a direct effect on the prosperity of a country. Thus, it is critical that a marriage is not predetermined; otherwise, it has a dramatic adverse effect on development of a country.