In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While, in some part of the world, high school students prefer to develop practical knowledge and others take the regular classes to learn the basic general knowledge. In my opinion, schools ought to teach them general subjects rather than practical skills that would be appropriate to their age. On the one hand, students in some region, within the age of 11 to 13, who opt to go for general academics rather than practical, will have better future, which I agree. In other words, by covering all the main subjects in their pre secondary period, pupil will have an overall understanding rather than a particular skill. For example, various subjects like English, mathematics, and other regional languages cannot be avoided in the early stage of education because it gives base to acquire further level of knowledge, especially practical skills which are required for any job. On the other hand, students have a strong thought that by choosing practice oriented curriculum will help them to get a job easily in the future. In my view, this misconception should be corrected by teachers because it is not going to benefit them in their professional career. In other words, in order to use the practical skills, the must understand the basics from the root level. Moreover, learning vocational syllabus will be more effective if it is taught in the higher secondary schools or at the degree level of education. In conclusion, despite practice based educational system, schools should provide basic lessons which will be help them to acquire other levels of education in the coming stages of their student life.