In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days some schools offer education with practical skills and some schools offer the traditional general academic education. General academic education has been there for years and is very old, our fore fathers have followed this pattern of education. In my opinion, education with practical skills can help students to prepare for the world of work. In this essay, I will highlight how education with practical skills can be achieved and how having practical skills can be benefitial. Primarily, the schools could introduce a new concept or new technology that is being used today more prominently. Furthermore, the teachers need to be skilled enough to be able to train the students to learn anything easily, as the concepts or technology keeps changing over time. Another aspect is that the teachers could encourage and guide the students to learn something new outside the syllabus. For example, When I was learning SQL during my school days, my teacher would tell me to learn more about SQL and encouraged me to come to him if I had any doubts. There are several reasons why practical knowledge will help build a student’s career. One of the significant reason is that through practical knowledge the students are ready for the competitive world and can get a job easily. Another factor is that such students will be more productive and will have a proper career path. The last factor is that, the students are prepared to contribute for the growth of the company or the country. For example, I had learnt a lot of new technologies during my school days and hence I was a productive resource in my first job from day one. In conclusion, students joining schools that teach them practical skills are benefitial. It prepares them for the future to be able to perform well in a company and prosper. Eventually, if the youth does well the country would also progress. It is a win-win situation at the end of the day.